Milwaukee 7 regional economic development strategy

The MMAC is one of the founding partners of the Milwaukee 7 regional economic development initiative, along with the City of Milwaukee and the Greater Milwaukee Committee. The Milwaukee 7, launched in September 2005, was formed to create a cooperative platform for the seven counties of southeastern Wisconsin: Kenosha, Milwaukee, Ozaukee, Racine, Walworth, Waukesha and Washington. Its mission is to grow, attract and retain diverse businesses and talent.

>>View the Milwaukee 7 Executive Summary or the its Business Plan to Advance Economic Opportunities in the Seven Counties of SE Wisconsin.

"Milwaukee 7 is delivering on its promise to compete globally by acting locally."

- Gale Klappa

Chairman, President & CEO
Wisconsin Energy Corp.

  Together, these seven counties have a wealth of corporate headquarters, a pool of highly skilled workers and world-class amenities. Competing as a region broadens our range of choices and opportunities and gives us the competitive edge that we need today, and into the future.

The Milwaukee 7 continues to build the region's capacity and accelerate economic growth. Since forming, Milwaukee 7 has seen a significant return on investment. More than 8,100 direct jobs have been created or retained in the region, with an impact of more than $430 million in new payroll and $600 million in new capital investment. (These results are based on information provided by the companies at the time of Milwaukee 7 involvement.) The Milwaukee 7 has also leveraged millions of dollars in federal earmarks, state assistance and other municipal investments for business projects that make the Milwaukee Region stronger and a more attractive place to do business.

The Milwaukee 7 measures its success on key benchmarks. 

>> View the most recent Milwaukee 7 Performance Scorecard.

The Milwaukee 7 also aligns and partners with the Wisconsin Economic Development Corp. (WEDC), the state's public-private economic development corporation, to achieve the economic development goals established for the state of Wisconsin and the WEDC network.